News & Announcements

National Honor Society Induction

National Honor Society Induction On Thursday, April 30th, Towanda Jr/Sr High School proudly held its 49th Annual National Honor Society Induction Ceremony. The program was held in the presence of the staff and student body of the school. In addition, many family members of the new inductees were also in attendance. Following a brief welcome by Principal Dennis Peachey, the current NHS officers conducted the induction ceremony. The twenty-seven new inductees were chosen based on their outstanding qualities in the four foundations of NHS membership: scholarship, service, leadership, and character. Following the induction of the new members, the 19 senior members were recognized with the reading of their future plans. Following the ceremony, a brief reception was held in the cafeteria for the new inductees and their families. Towanda Jr/Sr High School is very proud to announce the newest members of their National Honor Society.
A Taste of Indian Culture

A Taste of Indian Culture On May 22, 2015 World Literature students enjoyed “A Taste of India” in the Towanda Area Junior Senior High School cafeteria as a culmination of the Asian literature unit in English II. The event was inspired by the reading of various Indian works of literature including: “Games at Twilight” by Anita Desai; “The Cabulliwallah,” “Song VII,” “The Golden Boat,” and “The Post Office” by Rabindranath Tagore; “Rama’s Initiation” from the Ramayana; and Nectar in a Sieve by Kamala Markandaya. The event was made possible by a Towanda Area School District Education Foundation Venture Grant and provided students with an opportunity to taste authentic Indian dishes catered by New Delhi Diamonds of Ithaca, New York.
Mandatory Meeting for Parents of Athletes
Parents of a student playing JV and Varsity fall sports (2015) there will be a mandatory parent meeting on May 27th at 6PM in the high school auditorium. Please read attachment for more information.
2015 Summer Reading Program
Students in grades Pre-K through 8th will again participate in the district’s summer reading program with the kick-off date June 5, 2015. This is our second year implementing a summer reading program with funding provided by the Keystones to Opportunity Literacy Grant.
June 11, 2015 Sports Physicals
All students entering grades 7 - 12 the sports physicals will be held on
June 11, 2015, from 8:30 – 11:30 and 12:30 – 3:00 in the high school nurse’s office. The cost is $17.00, checks can be made payable to THS Athletic Dept. Paperwork can be picked up in the school office or online.
No physical will be done without paperwork completed and payment.
  Show All »